First National Bank of Jacksboro

Qwik Clicks

Live Chat


Live Chat
Questions? Ask our online customer service reps.

Click here >












Contact Us

201 S. Main
Jacksboro, TX 76458
Ph: 940-567-5591
Fax: 940-567-5597

Runaway Bay
1055 Hwy. 380 W.
Runaway Bay, TX 76426
Ph: 940-575-2100
Fax: 940-575-2135

Lobby/Drive-thru Hours
Monday - Thursday
9 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

For our extended
network of locations in
the DFW-area,
click here.






Our History

First National Bank of Jacksboro has been providing hometown, friendly, innovative banking for over a century. Founded in 1890 by a group of early Jack County settlers, First National truly was the first bank in Jack County.

The First Story

A group of early Jack County settlers gathered on Saturday, September 13, 1890 and organized the first bank in Jack County. The First National Bank of Jacksboro was formed with capital stock of $50,000. Serving as the first president was T.D. Sporer, T.R. Hoxie served as vice president and D.L. Knox was cashier.

Directors of the newly organized bank were J.W. Knox, J.W. Aynes, N. Atkinson, W.T. Eavans, W. Stewart, A.J. Birdsong and T.D. Sporer all of Jacksboro. John R. House, J.P. Smith, R.J. Sellers and M.C. Hurley, all of Fort Worth, were also Directors.

Opening for business, Wednesday, December 10, 1890, the bank was located in the Jack County Courthouse. In 1893, J.W. Knox was named president of the Bank and served until 1932.

The First National Bank built the first bank building in the county. The building of native stone from the Lost Creek quarry was constructed on a block of land belonging to H.H. McConnell, a soldier at Fort Richardson. The outstanding architecture was completed by the Risley Brothers in 1897.

In 1924 a very young Harry McConnell assumed the duties of bookkeeper and cashier of the Bank. Becoming president in 1941, McConnell served the people of Jack County for 52 years. Retiring in 1974, he served two years as chairman of the board.

Remodeling of the original building was completed in 1950 and in 1969 the facility was recognized as a Texas Historic Landmark by the Texas Historical Society.

On February 8, 1978, the officers and directors broke the ground to start the construction of the new $1 million, 10,000 square feet banking facility. On November 20, 1978, business transactions began in the new modern building. Serving as president was Robert V. Carothers and Glyn Gilliam as chairman of the board.

The institution has had only 11 presidents in over 120 years. Past presidents include T.D. Sporer, J.W. Knox, E.C. Richards, Kirk Stewart, H.H. McConnell, Joe Spray, John K. Hackley, Ridley Gibson, Robert Carothers, Danny Scarbrough and Tim Cassle.

Danny Scarbrough became President on April 12, 1979, and in 1997, First National opened a second branch in Runaway Bay. 

Tim Cassle, an employee since 1973, became president in 2009. When First National Bank of Jacksboro became a division of ViewPoint Bank, N.A. in April 2012, Tim was appointed Regional President of First National Bank of Jacksboro and Runaway Bay.

ViewPoint Bank, a full-service community bank based in Plano, Texas, has 29 bank locations in the DFW Metroplex, in addition to the two First National locations, and First National customers are able to bank at any ViewPoint Bank location.

The employees at First National Bank are pleased to have provided hometown, friendly banking for over a century, and pledge to continue this service based on the foundation of our rich history blended with vision and courage for the future. No wonder they call us FIRST!


Home  |  Privacy Policy  |  Site Map  |  About Us
© LegacyTexas DBA First National Bank of Jacksboro. All rights reserved. Member FDIC. Equal Housing Lender EHL